Sarabande blanket

As my Instagram feed attests, I started swatching this reversible double-knitted blanket some time ago. I actually finished it around October last year, but then our Australian summer hit, which soon turned into the Black Summer.

We were in drought, we couldn’t get any vegetables to grow, even with constant watering (they knew better than we did), and then the fire season got far worse than anything we’d ever seen before. It was a long hard summer, and I’m sorry to admit that I wished many times we were in March already.

undefined

And then March came, and we all know how things went then. I’m incredibly lucky that in my home nation the spread of COVID-19 has so far been contained and life is slowly starting to return to ‘normal’.

Not only did I finish this blanket a while ago, but the initial designs for the main motifs (which I would love to show you but can’t find!) were doodles I made years ago, when I was developing my first pattern, the Rainbow scarf and hat. More recently I started fiddling with those designs on the computer and almost organically they developed into the design you see here. I had some Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino on hand for swatching and it turned out to be the perfect blend and weight for this project.

undefined

I only knit in the evenings, and not every evening, so it took me a while to knit up my sample and iron out the kinks, but I’m very pleased with the result – and I was very warm as I knitted it through last winter!

I hope you like it. You can find the pattern on Ravelry and LoveCrafts.

undefined

Leave a comment